The different path to FI

Here are the stories of my friends financial journey. I know them around the same time in 2011, when we were all broke and talking about money was easy and innocent. We all took a different route and approach in making finance works for us.  Fast forward six years and this is where they are today in late 20's. 

It seems that they have all surpassed me in a good way. And it proves that in a peaceful nation, everyone can work towards a better life (Imagine if you need to flea for your life in Syria). Here you go, I hope these stories inspire you.

1. The conventional - Engineer - 27 yrs old

He started off with a salary of RM4000 and save RM1200 each month. RM600 each in tabung haji and ASB. That is on top of the RM150,000 house he owns. I never ask how he's doing now but I know he has a minimum of RM150,000 in cash. Yes, I believe one can never be poor if you qualify for ASB and other peaks that you must claim.

2. The unconventional - Trader - 29 yrs old

A genius friend of mine, who unfortunately is not eligible for ASB but God bless him with a brilliant mind. He trade equity from the first day of graduation and never turn back. I do not know how well he does but it's been six years, he bought a car, bought a high end condo and has never thought of trying a 9-5 job. It wasn't family money and no, he's not involve in any invest with me scam so that must be something.

3. The shopaholic - Banker - 26 yrs old

Even my shopaholic friend has a way in building financial security. She bought a RM280,000 unit in 2012 and has since renting it out near to RM2,000/month. Yes, she doesn't save and splurge on fashion, food, travel, products. Nevertheless, with the income generating condo, the likelihood that she will retire with a good fortune is rather certain.

4. A greener pasture - Engineer - 28 yrs old

This university friend of mine was making RM2,000-RM2,500 a month until he decided that enough is enough and drove over to Singapore in early 2013. It wasn't such a long drive and he started with around SGD3500 and now he is making close to SGD6500. His saving is growing 6x my rate. 6 times eh! It's not like I can eat white bread everyday and save that.

What's your story?

Comments